Couple arriving at the airport

An ETIAS Visa Will Be Required to Visit Europe in 2025 — Here’s What You Need to Know

If you’re eyeing a dreamy European vacation in the future, there will soon be one more thing to add to your pre-departure checklist.

Visa-free travel to Europe will soon be a thing of the past. The European Union (EU) is rolling out the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS), an online visa that applies to non-EU travelers. In time, it will be required to set foot in many of your favorite European destinations.

Originally, the ETIAS was set to launch in 2024, but now it won’t be required for travelers until mid-2025, notes the European Union (EU) website.

What is the ETIAS?

The ETIAS is an online visa for non-EU travelers.

Once it goes live in 2025, the visa will be required for anyone intending to do a short stay in Europe, typically 90 days within a 180-day period.

The ETIAS visa is not suitable for extended stays. To travel around a participating country for longer than 90 days, you’ll need a long-stay visa, like a student visa, digital nomad visa, or retirement visa (also known as a non-lucrative visa).

Which countries will require the ETIAS?

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Traveler-in-Santorini-Greece-1024x658.png

Of the 45 countries in Europe, 30 will require visitors to obtain an ETIAS before arrival. 

The list on the EU website includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Who needs to apply?

Currently, the EU has visa-free agreements with 60 countries, allowing travelers to enter, sans visa, for a set period of time.

In 2025, that policy will change. The EU will require travelers from previously exempt countries to obtain an ETIAS.

If you are any of the following countries listed below, you’ll need an ETIAS:

Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, El Salvador, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macao, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North Macedonia, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Taiwan, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

How much will the ETIAS cost?

The cost of the ETIAS visa will be a one-time payment of €7 ($8). 

Payment is due on the day you apply for the ETIAS. During the application process, the website will prompt you to enter your card information and pay the fee.

Fee exemption

If you are under the age of 18, over the age of 70, or your family member is an EU citizen, you’ll be exempt from the ETIAS application fee.

How do you apply?

The ETIAS is not required yet, so there’s no way to apply.

Once it’s rolled out in mid-2025, you’ll have to apply through the ETIAS website or via the ETIAS mobile app.

If you’re a minor, a parent or guardian can apply for you. During the application process, you will both sign a declaration of representation form, permitting someone else to do business on your behalf.

What are the requirements?

To apply online, you’ll need to provide your passport or travel documents, which must be valid for at least three months past your trip. For example, if you’re planning a trip to France from January to April 2025, your passport must be valid through July 2025.

You’ll also need to provide information that’s typical of other visas, including:

  • first name
  • last name
  • date of birth
  • place of birth
  • nationality
  • address
  • first names of your parents
  • email address
  • phone number

The ETIAS application will also ask about your level of education, your career, the purpose of your travels, your criminal history, any travel in war zones, and whether or not any other countries have asked you to leave.

How long does it take to get approved?

Most applicants can get approved within a few minutes via email, but it can take up to four days to receive a decision.

In some cases, officials may ask you to provide more documentation or do an interview, which can extend the timeline to 30 days. Keep this in mind when you’re booking your travel plans.

If your application is rejected, can you appeal?

ETIAS visa application getting rejected by an official

Yes, you have the right to appeal.

Officials will send you an email explaining the reasons for their decision and the next steps you should take with the specific country you’re trying to visit.

If you think your application could get rejected, you may want to apply for an ETIAS with limited validity instead. It’s used to grant entry to those with extenuating circumstances who might not otherwise qualify, like if you need to visit a loved one with a terminal illness, attend a funeral, or fulfill an obligation to appear in court.

Quick recap

  • By mid-2025, an ETIAS visa will be required to enter 30 countries in the EU.
  • Non-EU travelers will need to apply online and wait for approval before traveling abroad.
  • Approval can take anywhere from a few minutes to 30 days, so plan accordingly. 
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Article
Two digital nomads working from their laptops

How To Become a Digital Nomad and Travel the World

Next Article
Traveler on his laptop working remotely

How to Get a Remote Job and Explore the World